Skip to Content

College of Arts & Sciences
Satellite Oceanography Laboratory


People

Director

Name Title Phone Number Email
Dr. Subrahmanyam Bulusu Professor of Satellite Oceanography & Physical Oceanography (803) 777-2572 sbulusu@geol.sc.edu

Visiting Scientists and Postdoctoral Associates

Name Title Phone Number Email
Dr. Kyozo Ueyoshi Visiting Scientist from the Scripps Institution of Oceanography, UC San Diego ueyoshi@ucsd.edu
Dr. Daria M. Martynova Fullbright Visiting Professor, from the White Sea Biological Station Zoological Institute of Russian Academy of Sciences +7 (921) 014 58 64 daria.martynova@gmail.com
Dr. Yuichiro Shibata Fullbright Visiting Professor, from the Department of Computer and Information Sciences, Nagasaki University, Japan. shibata@cis.nagasaki-u.ac.jp

Graduate Students

Name Title Phone Number Email
Rachel Nichols MS (Marine Science) Spring 2019-Present 8037774529 rachelen@email.sc.edu
Casey Shoup MS. Marine Science (Fall, 2018-present) 803-777-2572 cshoup@seoe.sc.edu
Heather Roman-Stork Ph.D. Marine Science (Fall, 2018-present) hromanstork@seoe.sc.edu
Morgan Paris MS. Marine Science (Graduated in Spring, 2018) At Present: Research Scientist, Auburn University 803-777-4529 mparis@email.sc.edu
Brady Ferster Ph.D. Marine Science Student (2016-Present) (803) 777-4529 bferster@seoe.sc.edu
Corinne Trott Ph.D. Marine Science Student (2016-Present) (803) 777-4529 ctrott@seoe.sc.edu
Jessica Burns MS. Marine Science student (Graduated in Spring, 2017) At Present: Researcher/ Scientific Analyst II NOAA SciTech- OSTA project at NOAA STAR in College Park, MD 803-777-4529 jmburns4@ncsu.edu
Caroline Corbett MS. Geological Sciences student (Graduated in Fall, 2016) At Present: Software Engineer at Ball Aerospace, Denver, Colorado 803-777-4529 cmarycorbett@gmail.com
Bryce Melzer M.S. Marine Science Student (Graduated in Fall, 2016). At Present: Naval Research Laboratory, Mississippi 803-777-4529 melzer@email.sc.edu
Dr. Joseph DAddezio Ph.D. Marine Science (Graduated in Summer, 2016). At Present: Oceanographer, Naval Research Laboratory, Mississippi (803) 777-2759 jdaddezio@geol.sc.edu
Gary Grunseich M.S. Geological Sciences (Graduated in Summer 2012), At present: Senior Environmental Specialist, RTP Environmental Associates, Inc New York (631) 456-9731 ggruns@hawaii.edu
Dr. Ebenezer Sackitey Nyadjro Ph.D. Marine Science (Graduated in Summer, 2012), At Present: Oceanographer, Naval Research Laboratory, Mississippi. (206) 526-6256 ebenezer.nyadjro@noaa.gov
Dr. Dara D.H. Cadden Ph.D. Marine Science (Graduated in Summer 2009), At Present: Oceanographer (GS-13) Naval Oceanographic Office, Mississippi (228) 688-4941 dara.cadden@navy.mil
Dr. Michelle M. Gierach Ph.D. Marine Science (Graduated in Spring, 2009), At present: Scientist, JPL/NASA. 818.354.1933 Michelle.Gierach@jpl.nasa.gov
Dr. David M. Heffner M.S. Geological Sciences (Graduated in Fall, 2008), At Present: Geologist, Anadarko Petroleum Corporation, Huston, Texas. dheffner@geol.sc.edu
Clifford Felton M.S. Marine Science (Graduated in Spring 2014) Atpresent: Senior Fixed Income Specialist at Vanguard csfelton@gmail.com
Matthew Nienhaus M.S. Marine Science (Graduated in Spring 2013), At Present: Design Engineer, Actavo mnienhaus@geol.sc.edu

Undergraduate Students

Name Title Phone Number Email
Rachel Nichols B.S. (Marine Science) Summer, 2018-Fall, 2018 803-777-4529 rachelen@email.sc.edu
Richard (Ricky) Brokaw B.S. (Marine Science) Fall, 2018-present 803-777-4529 rbrokaw@email.sc.edu
Caroline Kerfonta B.S. in Statistics (Hons) Fall, 2017-Spring, 2019 (803) 777-4529 kerfontc@email.sc.edu
Dylan Kane B.S. Computer Science (Graduated in Fall, 2012), At Present: Naval Surface Water Center, Pax River, Virginia. KANED@mailbox.sc.edu
Jamie Shutta B.S. Marine Science (Graduated in Spring, 2010), At Present: Graduate student at the University of Washington. shutta@uw.edu
Brandon Long B.S. Marine Science (Graduated in Summer, 2012), At Present: Consultant at Alsbridge Aurora, Information Technology & Services,Denver, Colorado. longbc@mailbox.sc.edu
Victoria Young B.S. Marine Science Student (Current) 803-777-4529 youngva@email.sc.edu
Stephanie Ayres B.S Marine Science (Graduated in Spring 2014), At Present: Ph.D. student at the University of Maine. ayress@email.sc.edu