Skip to Content

College of Arts & Sciences
Satellite Oceanography Laboratory


Group Members

Professor & Director
Name Title Phone Number Email
Dr. Subrahmanyam Bulusu Professor of Satellite Oceanography & Physical Oceanography (803) 777-2572 sbulusu@geol.sc.edu
Visiting Scientists / Postdoctoral Associates
Name Title Phone Number Email
Dr. Daria M. Martynova Fullbright Visiting Professor, from the White Sea Biological Station Zoological Institute of Russian Academy of Sciences +7 (921) 014 58 64 daria.martynova@gmail.com
Dr. Yuichiro Shibata Fullbright Visiting Professor, from the Department of Computer and Information Sciences, Nagasaki University, Japan. shibata@cis.nagasaki-u.ac.jp
Dr. Kyozo Ueyoshi Visiting Scientist from the Scripps Institution of Oceanography, UC San Diego ueyoshi@ucsd.edu
Graduate Students
Name Title Phone Number Email
Clifford Felton M.S. Marine Science (Graduated in Spring 2014) csfelton@gmail.com
Matthew Nienhaus M.S. Marine Science (Graduated in Spring 2013), At Present: Field Technician at ARI Environmental, Inc, Huston, Texas. mnienhaus@geol.sc.edu
Gary Grunseich M.S. Geological Sciences (Graduated in Summer 2012), At present: Ph.D. student at the University of Hawaii, Manoa. (631) 456-9731 ggruns@hawaii.edu
Dr. Ebenezer Sackitey Nyadjro Ph.D. Marine Science (Graduated in Summer, 2012), At Present: Oceanographer, Naval Research Laboratory, Mississippi. (206) 526-6256 ebenezer.nyadjro@noaa.gov
Dr. Dara D.H. Cadden Ph.D. Marine Science (Graduated in Summer 2009), At Present: Naval Oceanographic Office, Mississippi (228) 688-4941 dara.cadden@navy.mil
Dr. Michelle M. Gierach Ph.D. Marine Science (Graduated in Spring, 2009), At present at JPL/NASA. 818.354.1933 Michelle.Gierach@jpl.nasa.gov
Dr. David M. Heffner M.S. Geological Sciences (Graduated in Fall, 2008), At Present: Geologist, Anadarko Petroleum Corporation, Huston, Texas. dheffner@geol.sc.edu
Dr. Joseph DAddezio Ph.D. Marine Science (Graduated in Summer, 2016). At Present: Oceanographer, Naval Research Laboratory, Mississippi (803) 777-2759 jdaddezio@geol.sc.edu
Bryce Melzer M.S. Marine Science Student (Graduated in Fall, 2016). At Present: Naval Research Laboratory, Mississippi 803-777-4529 melzer@email.sc.edu
Caroline Corbett MS. Geological Sciences student (Graduated in Fall, 2016) 803-777-4529 cmarycorbett@gmail.com
Jessica Burns MS. Marine Science student (Graduated in Spring, 2017) 803-777-4529 jmburns4@ncsu.edu
Brady Ferster Ph.D. Marine Science Student (2016-Present) (803) 777-4529 bferster@seoe.sc.edu
Corinne Trott Ph.D. Marine Science Student (2016-Present) (803) 777-4529 ctrott@seoe.sc.edu
Morgan Paris MS. Marine Science student 803-777-4529 mparis@email.sc.edu
Olivia Ostwald Ph.D. Marine Science student 803-777-4529 oostwald@seoe.sc.edu
Undergraduate Students
Name Title Phone Number Email
Victoria Young B.S. Marine Science Student (Current) 803-777-4529 youngva@email.sc.edu
Stephanie Ayres B.S Marine Science (Graduated in Spring 2014), At Present: Ph.D. student at the University of Maine. ayress@email.sc.edu
Dylan Kane B.S. Computer Science (Graduated in Fall, 2012), At Present: Naval Surface Water Center, Pax River, Virginia. KANED@mailbox.sc.edu
Jamie Shutta B.S. Marine Science (Graduated in Spring, 2010), At Present: Graduate student at the University of Washington. shutta@uw.edu
Brandon Long B.S. Marine Science (Graduated in Summer, 2012), At Present: Consultant at Alsbridge Aurora, Information Technology & Services,Denver, Colorado. longbc@mailbox.sc.edu
Morgan Paris Undergraduate Student Assistant (Graduate in Spring, 2017) 803-777-4529 mparis@email.sc.edu
Caroline Kerfonta B.S. in Statistics (Hons) (803) 777-4529 kerfontc@email.sc.edu